Product Categories

Spiritual Growth

Filters

Showing 313–324 of 348 results

Departments

Price Filter

313-324 of 348 products

  • £12.99

    Tide Change CD

    An instrumental collection of ancient and modern Celtic sounds by Keith Duke. [playlist images="false" ids="8977,8979,8981,8983,8985,8987,8989,8991,8993,8995,8997,8999,9001,9003,9005,9007"]
    £12.99
    £12.99
  • £8.95

    Timeless Simplicity

    ,

    This is a book about simplicity - not destitution, not parsimoniousness, not self-denial - but the restoration of wealth in the midst of an affluence in which we are starving the spirit. It is a book about the advantages of living a less cluttered, stressful life than that which many of us are now living in the overcrowded and manic-paced consuming nations. It is a book that has nothing to do with subsistence living on the Lake Isle of Innisfree, but everything to do with having less and enjoying more - enjoying time to do the work you love, enjoying time to spend with your family, enjoying time to pursue creative projects, enjoying time for good eating, enjoying time just to be.

    Another theme of the book concerns the future of our home, the Earth. Up to the end of the 19th century, the Earth consisted of a world of oceans and land masses teeming with all kinds of life, but our grandchildren will inherit one with less than 20 percent of its original forests still intact, with most of the readily available fresh water already spoken for, with most of the wetlands and reef systems either destroyed or degraded. Sooner or later a more frugal lifestyle will not only be desirable - it will become an imperative.

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    £8.95
    £8.95
  • Sold out
    To You This Day
    To You This Day
    £11.50

    To You This Day: A4 signed print

    ,
    Words: My God I give to You this day, Each word I think and say and pray, Each action and each small step, on the way. I give my life to You this day. Background: Artist Mary Fleeson comments...'The prayer in this piece, inspired by an old children's prayer, could be used every day but the thinking behind it is as a prayer to say on each day of Lent. The time before Easter is a chance to prepare for the revelation of new Life. We may take time to consider that victory of life over death, what it means to truly die to self and what difference it makes to the everyday activity of living here in the world. The blossom flowers, growing from what appears to be the dead branches of a desolate tree, neatly symbolise life persisting in the face of death as we are reminded every Spring when the seemingly barren begins to live again.' Printing and Sizing: This item is 210mm x 297mm and is printed on 300gsm card stock
    £11.50
    £11.50
  • £11.95

    Tools Matter: Beginning the Spiritual Journey

    , ,
    How can we tend the garden of our souls? In Tools Matter, Sr. Meg Funk turns to the wisdom of the desert fathers for the means of removing obstacles to spiritual growth, which include thoughts of food, sex, possessions, anger, dejection, and pride, among other preoccupations. Redirecting thought away from such weeds in the garden of the spirit can lead to a greater awareness of God and purity of prayer.

    Drawing on the writings of the fifth-century monk John Cassian, Funk explores the use of tools as memory, imagination, and rational thinking – tools right out of early Christianity – to work on inner healing. She also explains how other positive tools, such as ceaseless prayer, manual labour, and isolation, may lead to uncluttering the mind and purifying the heart.

    £11.95
    £11.95
  • Understanding Difficult Scriptures in a Healing Way
    Understanding Difficult Scriptures in a Healing Way
    £11.00

    Understanding Difficult Scriptures in a Healing Way

    ,
    An illustrated book by Matthew Linn, Sheila Fabricant Linn and Dennis Linn that helps readers of the Bible to read it, difficult passages included, in ways that enhance their sense of loving connection so that they feel closer to God, themselves, others, and their world.
    £11.00
    £11.00
  • £12.00

    Understanding Sexual Abuse: A Guide for Ministry Leaders and Survivors

    , , ,
    A many as one in four girls and one in six boys experience sexual abuse during childhood, and it's estimated that up to half of the incidents are never reported. Countless millions, both children and adults, carry this complex, often hidden pain. What does the path to healing look like for survivors? And how can ministry leaders, pastors and counsellors best help them as they walk this difficult road? Drawing on both his own and is wife's experience as survivors of childhood sexual abuse, minister and lecturer Tim Hein offers his expertise, practical guidance and empathy. Filled with sober truths and the hope of Christ, this book is a rich resource both for them and for those who have suffered sexual abuse and those is a position to help them.
    £12.00
    £12.00
  • £2.00

    Urban: Greetings card

    ,
    Photographic card with 9 urban images by Lindsay Grant. Blank inside for your own message.
    £2.00
    £2.00
  • £14.99

    Using the Bible in Spiritual Direction

    , ,
    'An invaluable travelling companion for anyone engaged in spiritual direction. The book affirms in an enlightening and interesting way the indispensable place of the Bible in listening, discerning and journeying with another person. A really helpful guide that explores the relationship of Scripture to issues of spiritual formation, mystery, life, faith, spirituality and the spiritual disciplines'.

    Roy Searle, Northumbria  Community.

    'This is the authentic voice of a spiritual guide who is widely read, deeply thoughtful and richly experienced. All this comes together in a book which is both wise and generous and, most valuably of all, roots the increasingly important practice of spiritual direction in the core Christian text of the Bible. This is the book we have needed for a long time.'

    John Pritchard, author and former Bishop of Oxford.

    £14.99
    £14.99
  • £12.00

    Walking Home Together: Spiritual Guidance and Practical Advice for the End of Life

    ,
    Very few books address this sensitive subject, and none do so more beautifully than chaplain Mike mercer's tender and practical guide. In the tradition of Nouwen and Rolheiser, he offers thoughts, practices, stories, and prayers that can bring comfort and strength for those in their final season of life. Where will I find love right now? How is my death a gift for others? How can I cope when I'm so afraid? Mercer explores these difficult questions as well as practical considerations like advance directives as he helps readers immerse themselves in the powerful love of the Good Shepherd, who always walks this journey with us.
    £12.00
    £12.00
  • Walking in Valleys of Darkness
    Walking in Valleys of Darkness
    £9.00

    Walking in Valleys of Darkness

    , ,
    Trusting in the Lord and his benevolence is easy when life is going well - not so easy when life seems difficult. Yet, walking through what the author calls 'valleys of darkness' can bring us opportunities for insight and grace we might not experience when we are walking through good times. Benedictine monk Fr. Albert Holtz invites the reader to walk with him through five periods of pain and difficulty in his own life, including being diagnosed with cancer and dealing with the death of his brother. In a series of twenty-four meditations, the author shows how insights behind such New Testament words such as courage, compassion, and trust, became a source of practical help and spiritual strength for him during those difficult times. His down-to-earth reflections can do the same for anyone trying to understand how the mystery of Christ's passion, death and resurrection can help us cope with, and even profit from, life's inevitable struggles and sufferings.
    £9.00
    £9.00
  • Walking the Labyrinth
    Walking the Labyrinth
    £9.99

    Walking the Labyrinth: A Spiritual and Practical Guide

    , ,
    A labyrinth is one of the most ancient tools for spiritual growth and development, dating back to medieval Christianity. Walking a labyrinth is like going on a pilgrimage where beautiful and unpredictable things can happen. Sometimes a burden is laid down; sometimes a challenge is picked up; sometimes just stopping at the centre is enough; sometimes we need to be turned around immediately. This inviting guide introduces the labyrinth and traces its history in the Christian spiritual tradition. It explores the different ways individuals and groups, including children, can use a labyrinth for prayer and reflection, and contains many idea for using the labyrinth in worship and mission. Some seasonal liturgies are also included. You can discover how to create your own labyrinth – in church, in an open space, or in miniature for your own personal use at home or on the move. Walking the labyrinth will take you beyond merely following a path to a deeper experience and understanding of this ancient devotional walking practice, which many have found to be nothing other than walking on holy ground.
    £9.99
    £9.99
  • £7.99

    Walking with Gospel Women: Interactive Bible Meditations

    , ,

    Imaginative meditation can be a powerful way of attuning ourselves to God’s presence, involving as it does the emotions as well as the mind. This book offers a refreshing and inspiring way into Bible study, using meditative monologues based around many of the women of the Gospels. Through a time of guided reflection, we identify with the woman concerned and see what lessons emerge for today as we ponder her story. 

    Each chapter consists of a monologue, linked Bible passage and discussion material designed to draw out deep communication and group fellowship, as well as transformational learning. While designed primarily for small groups meeting to grow their relationships with God and with each other, the monologues can also be used as a way into silent reflection either for individuals or with larger groups.

     

    £7.99
    £7.99
Load More