Product Categories

Spiritual Growth

Filters

Showing 601–612 of 641 results

Departments

Price Filter

601-612 of 641 products

  • £11.95

    Tools Matter: Beginning the Spiritual Journey

    , ,
    How can we tend the garden of our souls? In Tools Matter, Sr. Meg Funk turns to the wisdom of the desert fathers for the means of removing obstacles to spiritual growth, which include thoughts of food, sex, possessions, anger, dejection, and pride, among other preoccupations. Redirecting thought away from such weeds in the garden of the spirit can lead to a greater awareness of God and purity of prayer.

    Drawing on the writings of the fifth-century monk John Cassian, Funk explores the use of tools as memory, imagination, and rational thinking – tools right out of early Christianity – to work on inner healing. She also explains how other positive tools, such as ceaseless prayer, manual labour, and isolation, may lead to uncluttering the mind and purifying the heart.

    £11.95
    £11.95
  • Understanding Difficult Scriptures in a Healing Way
    Understanding Difficult Scriptures in a Healing Way
    £11.00

    Understanding Difficult Scriptures in a Healing Way

    ,
    An illustrated book by Matthew Linn, Sheila Fabricant Linn and Dennis Linn that helps readers of the Bible to read it, difficult passages included, in ways that enhance their sense of loving connection so that they feel closer to God, themselves, others, and their world.
    £11.00
    £11.00
  • £12.00

    Understanding Sexual Abuse: A Guide for Ministry Leaders and Survivors

    , , ,
    A many as one in four girls and one in six boys experience sexual abuse during childhood, and it's estimated that up to half of the incidents are never reported. Countless millions, both children and adults, carry this complex, often hidden pain. What does the path to healing look like for survivors? And how can ministry leaders, pastors and counsellors best help them as they walk this difficult road? Drawing on both his own and is wife's experience as survivors of childhood sexual abuse, minister and lecturer Tim Hein offers his expertise, practical guidance and empathy. Filled with sober truths and the hope of Christ, this book is a rich resource both for them and for those who have suffered sexual abuse and those is a position to help them.
    £12.00
    £12.00
  • £15.99

    A Future and a Hope: Mission, Theological Education, and the Transformation of Post-Soviet Society

    ,
    After more than twenty years since the fall of the USSR, the evangelical movement in post-Soviet society has entered a crucial phase in its historical development. Setting out a transformative vision of mission and theological education, this book makes an important contribution towards the renewal of the church in this fascinating--but deeply troubled--part of the world. After the violent and disruptive events that followed the Ukrainian Revolution of Dignity and Freedom in 2013/14, the evangelical movement in post-Soviet society now has an unprecedented opportunity to become a shining example of a "church without walls." Searle and Cherenkov reflect on the political, social, cultural, and intellectual legacy of the Soviet Union and offer bold and innovative proposals on how the church can rediscover its prophetic voice by relinquishing its debilitating dependence on the state and, instead, expressing solidarity with the people in their legitimate aspirations for freedom and democracy. Notwithstanding the pessimism and lament expressed on many pages, the authors conclude on a positive note, predicting that the coming years will witness a flowering of evangelical ecumenism in action as Christian solidarity flourishes and overflows denominational boundaries and parochial interests.
    £15.99
    £15.99
  • £12.99

    Carnival Kingdom

    ,
    The first Christians lived out a new social order and envisaged the world anew. Divisions, inequalities and injustices would be overturned as the world would reflect a new kind of reign. In the Kingdom of God, the powerful are brought low, while the oppressed are raised up; the hungry are filled with good things, while the rich are sent empty away; the wolf lives with the lamb, and the leopard lies down with the goat; the slave becomes the son, the master is the servant of all and the meek will inherit the earth. This same upside-down Kingdom is echoed in the Carnival festivals of the Medieval era, which both parodied the oppressive structures of their day and dramatically portrayed an alternative reality. In this book, twelve scholars, theologians, and social activists from around the world take up the Carnival's call for justice and a renewed society, and portray in their own contexts the Kingdom of God coming in justice and fullness of life - the coming of the Carnival Kingdom.
    £12.99
    £12.99
  • £9.50

    Sympathy for Jonah: reflections on humiliation, terror and the politics of enemy-love

    ,
    The story of Jonah is sacred to all three Abrahamic faiths and remains a recognizable legend even in the most secularized corners of the West. And yet the maritime prophet's story has been trivialized as a quaint children's tale, his character has been blasted by unsympathetic commentators, and even his alleged tomb has now been destroyed by Islamic State militants who, in 2014, took the city of Mosul on the Nineveh Plains. Now that Nineveh is once again in the grip of tyrannical violence and communities across the West and the Middle East are deep in a time of discord and soul-searching, we might do well to recover the story of Jonah, a guiding light, who marches into the very heart of empire and confronts it with the radical politics of the kingdom of God, even as his own certainties are shaken to the core.
    £9.50
    £9.50
  • £12.99

    The God of Intimacy and Action : Reconnecting Ancient Spiritual Practices, Evangelism and Justice

    ,
    The God of Intimacy and Action reveals how contemplative spiritual practices can lead to greater intimacy with God and fuel passion for reaching out to others, through spreading the Good News and fostering justice for the poor and oppressed. The authors show why this combination is not only crucial but historical: it is vividly demonstrated in the lives of saints such as St Francis of Assisi, Ignatius of Loyola, and Catherine of Siena. Campolo and Darling explain mystical spirituality and its practices and integrate them with evangelism and justice to illuminate what they call 'holistic Christianity'. They suggest specific ways to nurture and energize one's spirituality and show how to go beyond living a Christian life that merely emphasizes right beliefs and right behaviours.
    £12.99
    £12.99
  • £2.00

    Urban: Greetings card

    ,
    Photographic card with 9 urban images by Lindsay Grant. Blank inside for your own message.
    £2.00
    £2.00
  • £14.99

    Using the Bible in Spiritual Direction

    , ,
    'An invaluable travelling companion for anyone engaged in spiritual direction. The book affirms in an enlightening and interesting way the indispensable place of the Bible in listening, discerning and journeying with another person. A really helpful guide that explores the relationship of Scripture to issues of spiritual formation, mystery, life, faith, spirituality and the spiritual disciplines'.

    Roy Searle, Northumbria  Community.

    'This is the authentic voice of a spiritual guide who is widely read, deeply thoughtful and richly experienced. All this comes together in a book which is both wise and generous and, most valuably of all, roots the increasingly important practice of spiritual direction in the core Christian text of the Bible. This is the book we have needed for a long time.'

    John Pritchard, author and former Bishop of Oxford.

    £14.99
    £14.99
  • £12.00

    Walking Home Together: Spiritual Guidance and Practical Advice for the End of Life

    , ,
    Very few books address this sensitive subject, and none do so more beautifully than chaplain Mike mercer's tender and practical guide. In the tradition of Nouwen and Rolheiser, he offers thoughts, practices, stories, and prayers that can bring comfort and strength for those in their final season of life. Where will I find love right now? How is my death a gift for others? How can I cope when I'm so afraid? Mercer explores these difficult questions as well as practical considerations like advance directives as he helps readers immerse themselves in the powerful love of the Good Shepherd, who always walks this journey with us.
    £12.00
    £12.00
  • Sold out
    Walking the Labyrinth
    Walking the Labyrinth
    £9.99

    Walking the Labyrinth: A Spiritual and Practical Guide

    , ,
    A labyrinth is one of the most ancient tools for spiritual growth and development, dating back to medieval Christianity. Walking a labyrinth is like going on a pilgrimage where beautiful and unpredictable things can happen. Sometimes a burden is laid down; sometimes a challenge is picked up; sometimes just stopping at the centre is enough; sometimes we need to be turned around immediately. This inviting guide introduces the labyrinth and traces its history in the Christian spiritual tradition. It explores the different ways individuals and groups, including children, can use a labyrinth for prayer and reflection, and contains many idea for using the labyrinth in worship and mission. Some seasonal liturgies are also included. You can discover how to create your own labyrinth – in church, in an open space, or in miniature for your own personal use at home or on the move. Walking the labyrinth will take you beyond merely following a path to a deeper experience and understanding of this ancient devotional walking practice, which many have found to be nothing other than walking on holy ground.
    £9.99
    £9.99
  • Sold out
    £7.99

    Walking with Gospel Women: Interactive Bible Meditations

    , ,
    96 800x600 Normal 0 false false false EN-US JA X-NONE   /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0cm; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman";} Imaginative meditation can be a powerful way of attuning ourselves to God’s presence, involving as it does the emotions as well as the mind. This book offers a refreshing and inspiring way into Bible study, using meditative monologues based around many of the women of the Gospels. Through a time of guided reflection, we identify with the woman concerned and see what lessons emerge for today as we ponder her story. Each chapter consists of a monologue, linked Bible passage and discussion material designed to draw out deep communication and group fellowship, as well as transformational learning. While designed primarily for small groups meeting to grow their relationships with God and with each other, the monologues can also be used as a way into silent reflection either for individuals or with larger groups.  
    £7.99
    £7.99
Load More