Product Categories

mental and physical health

Filters

Showing 25–29 of 29 results

Departments

Price Filter

25-29 of 29 products

  • £10.99

    The Circle of Peace: an antidote to distress

    , ,
    A much-needed book which gives people - Christians in particular - permission to love themselves as they should. Written by a chartered psychologist and a priest with a distinguished teaching and pastoral ministry, this book offers an encouraging hand to those who want to experiment with making beneficial changes in their life, especially those bothered by anxiety, depression, low self-esteem or feelings of helplessness. Full of reassuring and engaging stories. Includes practical exercises throughout to enable people to understand where discomfort originates and to discover ways forward. The Church is very good at inviting or challenging people to love their neighbours - it is not so strong on encouraging us to love ourselves. This book illuminates the healing truth that encountering the love of God sets us free to live as we were intended to live - loving ourselves and those around us. Through Bible passages, stories and exercises, the authors encourage us to throw off the sense of apprehension that bothers so many, and to enjoy living to the full in God's exhilarating company.
    £10.99
    £10.99
  • £12.50

    Walking Home Together: Spiritual Guidance and Practical Advice for the End of Life

    , ,
    Very few books address this sensitive subject, and none do so more beautifully than chaplain Mike mercer's tender and practical guide. In the tradition of Nouwen and Rolheiser, he offers thoughts, practices, stories, and prayers that can bring comfort and strength for those in their final season of life. Where will I find love right now? How is my death a gift for others? How can I cope when I'm so afraid? Mercer explores these difficult questions as well as practical considerations like advance directives as he helps readers immerse themselves in the powerful love of the Good Shepherd, who always walks this journey with us.
    £12.50
    £12.50
  • Sold out
    £9.99

    Thinking of You: A resource for the spiritual care of people with dementia

    , ,
    Thinking of You is a comprehensive introduction to the subject of dementia. This accessible book is a practical resource for those directly affected by the condition, their immediate family and carers, and those seeking to offer them pastoral care and encourage continuing spiritual growth. Importantly, the author addresses the spiritual care of the affected individual and how to help churches support them and their carers. The final section includes resources for ministry in residential care homes.  
    £9.99
    £9.99
  • £6.99

    Come let us age! An invitation to grow old boldly

    , ,
    In this unique book, Wanda Nash, a well-established writer on spirituality in her late seventies, reflects on growing old with faith and a positive spirit. This compelling invitation to grow old boldly – full of her own experiences and insights – includes Wanda's reflection on her encounter later in life with terminal cancer, and her thoughts on coping with the daily challenges of living a Christian life in her illness and in ageing. Demonstrating a profound sense of the value and purposefulness of 'old age', the author's indomitable spirit is matched only by fresh vision of the love of God in Jesus Christ. Until her death in June 2015, Wanda Nash was an author and speaker on a range of subjects including stress and spirituality. Having been the UK Chair of the International Stress Management Association, she authored a number of significant books, including Christ, Stress and Glory, At Ease with Stress, Come, Let us Play!, Simple Tools for Stillness and Silence as a Meeting Place. These reflections have been lovingly edited by Wanda's daughter, Poppy, and her friend Debbie Thrower, bringing to life the wisdom, faith and humour of old age for future generations.
    £6.99
    £6.99
  • £9.99

    The Amazing Technicolour Pyjama Therapy

    ,
    'When I fell ill and stayed ill, I felt like God had chopped me off at the ankles. I yelped in pain and indignation, I felt abandoned, diminished and finished. It took me a long time to learn that God was not out to kill me.' Some illnesses begin with a bang, whipped off to hospital or flattened into bed. Other conditions creep in until life skills are suddenly out of date. Work, socialising and hobbies are out of reach. It's a scary new world. Emily Ackerman knows this world only too well. She knows what it feels like to cry out to God to relive her suffering, to allow her to fulfil her life plans. She knows what it feels like to wait, year after year, while God works through her suffering, to fulfil his plans for her life. This book is about fighting back against illness; about reclaiming your life now you're ill. You'll find strategies, encouragement, practical advice and fresh ways to view your situation. God hasn't given up on  you: there's good news from the Bible about living abundantly and usefully with illness.
    £9.99
    £9.99
Load More