Product Categories

spiritual and pastoral care

Filters

Showing 37–46 of 46 results

Departments

Price Filter

37-46 of 46 products

  • £9.99

    The Other Side of Chaos : Breaking through when life is breaking down

    , , , ,
    Your children have left home, you have lost your job, you have had to move to a strange town, your partner has died ... Every life is filled with changes and transitions. In The Other Side of Chaos, the popular writer and speaker Margaret Silf takes us on a journey through the pitfalls and the opportunities of change. Transitions may be awkward and uncomfortable, but they also put into places where new life can flourish. Silf invites us to embrace the inevitability of upheaval, and shows us how the leaving of our comfort zone can become an invitation to set ourselves free. Through stories and examples and down-to earth tips, she shows us how we can live our transitions constructively and creatively. `We will discover what new growth may be sprouting in our lives only if we risk the journey that takes us, like reluctant time travellers, hurtling through the uncharted universe of change.'
    £9.99
    £9.99
  • £9.99

    Time to Live : The Beginner’s Guide to Saying Goodbye

    ,
    "Ann writes honestly about death and dying. It is easy to read, written from the heart and mixes philosophical /spiritual thought with highly practical ideas about ways forward. Ann writes from the perspective of her strong Christian faith and her writings are backed up with clear, useful, encouraging Scripture readings. As a Christian I found it very inspiring and hopeful. Death is a certainty for all of us, yet her society hides it away and pretends in collusion with her own unconscious minds that we are immortal. Ann tackles the subject comprehensively and uses a mix of personal stories, quotes, philosophical thinkers, poetry and scripture to ilustrate her ideas. The book flows well and I liked the way it illustrated the pitfalls one can slip into , from denial to an overwhelming belief in healing that can prevent one from preparing both spiritually and practically. I loved her positivity and encouragement to focus on love - the love of God, of each other and of ourselves. I have taken away some practical ideas to implement. For instance I have a lasting power of attorney but now realise how useful making an advance decision will be. Thank you Ann for this book."
    £9.99
    £9.99
  • Sold out
    £9.99

    Too Soon : A Mother’s Journey through Miscarriage: A 30-Day Devotional

    ,
    Here are 30 reflections on the topic of losing a baby. One in four pregnancies end in miscarriage, a traumatic experience for any woman, but one in which she typically feels alone. The author herself suffered four miscarriages, and writes compassionately and personally. Each piece is followed by a meditation and space for personal reflection. The book ends with a liturgy for a lost child, and is attractively designed.
    £9.99
    £9.99
  • Sold out
    £9.00

    Walking in Valleys of Darkness : A Benedictine Journey through Troubled Times

    , , , ,
    Trusting in the Lord and his benevolence is easy when life is going well - not so easy when life seems difficult. Yet, walking through what the author calls 'valleys of darkness' can bring us opportunities for insight and grace we might not experience when we are walking through good times. Benedictine monk Fr. Albert Holtz invites the reader to walk with him through five periods of pain and difficulty in his own life, including being diagnosed with cancer and dealing with the death of his brother. In a series of twenty-four meditations, the author shows how insights behind such New Testament words such as courage, compassion, and trust, became a source of practical help and spiritual strength for him during those difficult times. His down-to-earth reflections can do the same for anyone trying to understand how the mystery of Christ's passion, death and resurrection can help us cope with, and even profit from, life's inevitable struggles and sufferings.
    £9.00
    £9.00
  • £3.95

    Embracing Conflict: Jesus as a model for church leaders

    To be human is to know conflict; to be a leader is to know conflict intensified.  This invaluable guide explores some of the many instances when Jesus dealt with tension and hostility throughout his ministry. It invites leaders to enter into and experience these tense events from Jesus’ point of view.
    £3.95
    £3.95
  • £11.00

    Healing for Pastors and People Following a Sheep Attack

    96 800x600 Normal 0 false false false EN-US JA X-NONE   /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0cm; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman";} It may be one of the darkest secrets in worshipping communities. Every six minutes a handful of members (often no more than a half dozen) bully, intimidate, threaten and blackmail successful pastors into resigning their ministries. The wounds they inflict on these pastors and their families remain with them for the balance of their lives. Congregational leaders that stand with the pastor are often attacked and left suffering from the same trauma. If you are a senior minister, music minister, minister of education or faithful lay leader that still suffers with the wounds inflicted on you by a handful of antagonists, this book is designed to help you with your healing. “I worry so much about our bright and extremely talented priests. I no longer hear excitement and enthusiasm in their voices – I hear pain and disappointment. I am praying that the bullying will soon end and they can begin to heal.” A senior warden’s wife in the Episcopal Church.  
    £11.00
    £11.00
  • Into the depths
    Into the depths
    £12.99

    Into the depths: A Journey of Loss and Vocation

    ,
    In January 1984, Sr Mary Margaret Funk, a Benedictine nun from Indiana, paid a visit to Maryknoll missionary nuns working in Bolivia. On what should have been a routine trip to the local town for a convocation ceremony, a flash flood swept away the jeep in which she, three nuns, a priest, and a disabled boy they had adopted were travelling. Only she and the priest survived What happened that night catapulted Sr Meg into twenty-five years of prayer and self-examination. She relentlessly explored her relationship with the transcendent and immanent God, the profundities of her religious tradition, her commitment to spiritual practice, and her very human failings. It was a journey that left her spiritually naked before the terrible love of God; a journey to keep one's heart open to the transforming wounds of suffering. In the great tradition of spiritual confessions from Augustine to Thomas Merton's The Seven-Story Mountain, Into the Depths is a fearlessly honest and simply told account of one woman's struggle to engage at the deeper levels with the most profound questions of faith.
    £12.99
    £12.99
  • Spirituality and Remembering
    Spirituality and Remembering
    £3.50

    Spirituality and Remembering

    This Grove Booklet grew out of a sense of that since memory is such an essential part of our being human, it must be important in our spirituality. Spirituality concerns the way we live out what we believe about God and the way he relates to us. Much of our internal reflecting depends on what we carry in our memories and so God must be concerned about them as he is about the rest of us. But some many people look back with nostalgia, or pain, or large parts of our memory may be suppressed. Chapters cover Memory ...and the Christian faith ... and God ... the Bible ...and prayer ...and pastoral care ...and identity.
    £3.50
    £3.50
  • £9.99

    Thinking of You: A resource for the spiritual care of people with dementia

    , ,
    Thinking of You is a comprehensive introduction to the subject of dementia. This accessible book is a practical resource for those directly affected by the condition, their immediate family and carers, and those seeking to offer them pastoral care and encourage continuing spiritual growth. Importantly, the author addresses the spiritual care of the affected individual and how to help churches support them and their carers. The final section includes resources for ministry in residential care homes.  
    £9.99
    £9.99
  • £12.00

    Walking Home Together: Spiritual Guidance and Practical Advice for the End of Life

    , ,
    Very few books address this sensitive subject, and none do so more beautifully than chaplain Mike mercer's tender and practical guide. In the tradition of Nouwen and Rolheiser, he offers thoughts, practices, stories, and prayers that can bring comfort and strength for those in their final season of life. Where will I find love right now? How is my death a gift for others? How can I cope when I'm so afraid? Mercer explores these difficult questions as well as practical considerations like advance directives as he helps readers immerse themselves in the powerful love of the Good Shepherd, who always walks this journey with us.
    £12.00
    £12.00
Load More