Product Categories

spiritual and pastoral care

Filters

Showing 37–46 of 46 results

Departments

Price Filter

37-46 of 46 products

  • Sold out
    £16.99

    Healing Agony : Re-Imagining Forgiveness

    , ,
    How can we access the energy and wisdom needed to embark on the generous and healing venture of trust that we call forgiveness? One of the most profound challenges a human being can ever face is how to forgive in the aftermath of injury, hurt or violation. "Healing Agony" explores the theology of forgiveness alongside a number of contemporary forgiveness stories in order to glean insights for those facing just this challenge. While God's forgiveness is revealed to be a simpler matter than is sometimes imagined, forgiveness between human beings is shown to be far more difficult, enigmatic and open-ended. This book offers a map of the rugged terrain that victims of serious harm, or those who seek to accompany them, will need to navigate if they embark on the venture of trust we call forgiveness.
    £16.99
    £16.99
  • £4.99

    Dashed Hopes : When Our Best-Laid Plans Fall Apart

    , , ,
    Where do we turn when our hopes are dashed, when we look at best-laid plans and see only shattered dreams? With fresh perspectives on Jeremiah's plans for "a future of hope," Jesus' agony in the garden, and Isaiah's promise of "a way in the wilderness," Laura Kelly Fanucci offers hope for those wondering what comes next when life feels broken.
    £4.99
    £4.99
  • £4.99

    Lessons from a Hospital Bed: A Spiritual Tonic for Anyone Facing Illness and Recovery

    , ,
    John Piper shares ten beliefs he brought with him to hospital, and ten lessons from his hospital bed.With deep pastoral insight, practical wisdom and sensitivity, he encourages others in hospital to look beyond their circumstances. This can be a deeply meaningful time in which to draw from God's wisdom, trust him and rest in his love.
    £4.99
    £4.99
  • Sold out
    £10.99

    The Circle of Peace: an antidote to distress

    , ,
    A much-needed book which gives people - Christians in particular - permission to love themselves as they should. Written by a chartered psychologist and a priest with a distinguished teaching and pastoral ministry, this book offers an encouraging hand to those who want to experiment with making beneficial changes in their life, especially those bothered by anxiety, depression, low self-esteem or feelings of helplessness. Full of reassuring and engaging stories. Includes practical exercises throughout to enable people to understand where discomfort originates and to discover ways forward. The Church is very good at inviting or challenging people to love their neighbours - it is not so strong on encouraging us to love ourselves. This book illuminates the healing truth that encountering the love of God sets us free to live as we were intended to live - loving ourselves and those around us. Through Bible passages, stories and exercises, the authors encourage us to throw off the sense of apprehension that bothers so many, and to enjoy living to the full in God's exhilarating company.
    £10.99
    £10.99
  • £9.99

    The Compassion Quest

    , ,
    In this follow-up to his much praised Finding Hope and Meaning in Suffering, Trystan Owain Hughes encourages us to develop an approach to life that looks beyond our own concerns. Using illustrations from poetry, literature and film, and drawing on contemporary scientific thought, the author makes plain that our natural state is an interconnected harmony with God, with each other and with the world around us. Gradually we come to realize that loving others and desiring the best for them is worthwhile, even when there seems to be little in it for us. Just as Christ chose to humble himself and become 'God with us', so we too will bring light to the lives of those around us by transcending our self-centredness and becoming fully present to those in need. And as we begin to attune ourselves to love's frequency, our inner being will instinctively embrace all creation as sacred and deserving of our care and attention.
    £9.99
    £9.99
  • £12.50

    Walking Home Together: Spiritual Guidance and Practical Advice for the End of Life

    , ,
    Very few books address this sensitive subject, and none do so more beautifully than chaplain Mike mercer's tender and practical guide. In the tradition of Nouwen and Rolheiser, he offers thoughts, practices, stories, and prayers that can bring comfort and strength for those in their final season of life. Where will I find love right now? How is my death a gift for others? How can I cope when I'm so afraid? Mercer explores these difficult questions as well as practical considerations like advance directives as he helps readers immerse themselves in the powerful love of the Good Shepherd, who always walks this journey with us.
    £12.50
    £12.50
  • £9.99

    Thinking of You: A resource for the spiritual care of people with dementia

    , ,
    Thinking of You is a comprehensive introduction to the subject of dementia. This accessible book is a practical resource for those directly affected by the condition, their immediate family and carers, and those seeking to offer them pastoral care and encourage continuing spiritual growth. Importantly, the author addresses the spiritual care of the affected individual and how to help churches support them and their carers. The final section includes resources for ministry in residential care homes.  
    £9.99
    £9.99
  • Sold out
    £11.00

    Healing for Pastors and People Following a Sheep Attack

    96 800x600 Normal 0 false false false EN-US JA X-NONE   /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0cm; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman";} It may be one of the darkest secrets in worshipping communities. Every six minutes a handful of members (often no more than a half dozen) bully, intimidate, threaten and blackmail successful pastors into resigning their ministries. The wounds they inflict on these pastors and their families remain with them for the balance of their lives. Congregational leaders that stand with the pastor are often attacked and left suffering from the same trauma. If you are a senior minister, music minister, minister of education or faithful lay leader that still suffers with the wounds inflicted on you by a handful of antagonists, this book is designed to help you with your healing. “I worry so much about our bright and extremely talented priests. I no longer hear excitement and enthusiasm in their voices – I hear pain and disappointment. I am praying that the bullying will soon end and they can begin to heal.” A senior warden’s wife in the Episcopal Church.  
    £11.00
    £11.00
  • Into the depths
    Into the depths
    £12.99

    Into the depths: A Journey of Loss and Vocation

    ,
    In January 1984, Sr Mary Margaret Funk, a Benedictine nun from Indiana, paid a visit to Maryknoll missionary nuns working in Bolivia. On what should have been a routine trip to the local town for a convocation ceremony, a flash flood swept away the jeep in which she, three nuns, a priest, and a disabled boy they had adopted were travelling. Only she and the priest survived What happened that night catapulted Sr Meg into twenty-five years of prayer and self-examination. She relentlessly explored her relationship with the transcendent and immanent God, the profundities of her religious tradition, her commitment to spiritual practice, and her very human failings. It was a journey that left her spiritually naked before the terrible love of God; a journey to keep one's heart open to the transforming wounds of suffering. In the great tradition of spiritual confessions from Augustine to Thomas Merton's The Seven-Story Mountain, Into the Depths is a fearlessly honest and simply told account of one woman's struggle to engage at the deeper levels with the most profound questions of faith.
    £12.99
    £12.99
  • Spirituality and Remembering
    Spirituality and Remembering
    £3.50

    Spirituality and Remembering

    This Grove Booklet grew out of a sense of that since memory is such an essential part of our being human, it must be important in our spirituality. Spirituality concerns the way we live out what we believe about God and the way he relates to us. Much of our internal reflecting depends on what we carry in our memories and so God must be concerned about them as he is about the rest of us. But some many people look back with nostalgia, or pain, or large parts of our memory may be suppressed. Chapters cover Memory ...and the Christian faith ... and God ... the Bible ...and prayer ...and pastoral care ...and identity.
    £3.50
    £3.50
Load More