Product Categories

Desert Monasticism

Filters

Showing all 11 results

Departments

Price Filter

11 products

  • £15.99

    Desert Dangers and Delights: Stories, Teachings, and Sources

    ,
    The spirituality and lives of the desert fathers and mothers are often seen as the beginning and end of Christian monastic life. Their stories and messages inspire not only the most devout Christians but also the "nones" and the "dones." In Desert Dangers and Delights John Michael Talbot reflects on his experience as a spiritual father and a populariser of Catholic Christian spirituality through his music and teaching. He uses his own stories, Scripture, and the stories and sayings of the desert fathers and mothers to show a radically alternative way of living and thinking in Christ. With questions for reflection at the end of each chapter, this book will aid all readers, from experienced monastics to those just beginning a spiritual journey with Christ.
    £15.99
    £15.99
  • £17.00

    Letters from the Desert

    , ,
    At the age of 44, after a prominent career as a Catholic activist, Carlo Carretto was summoned by a voice that said: 'Leave everything, come with me into the desert. I don't want your action any longer, I want your prayer, your love.' Carretto responded by leaving for North Africa, where he joined the Little Brothers of Jesus and embraced the example of Charles de Foucauld. Among the fruits of Brother Carlo's response was Letters from the Desert, the first and most popular of his many books. Its life affirming message has inspired countless readers in a dozen languages. Simply, it reminds us that in the evening of our lives we will be judged by love.
    £17.00
    £17.00
  • £4.00

    The Heart Alone with God

    , , , , ,
    Celtic and Desert spirituality was essentially monastic, and praying was learned in the context of cell (alone) and community (together). There was no separation of praying and living; one flowed from the other. For us too, life is prayer and prayer is life. Making inner space to cultivate the God-life within is at the centre of the contemplative experience, which is entering into the self to be with God. This interior life is also a journey through the darkness and dangers of ‘the world, the flesh and the devil’. This booklet explores how we can thwart even the most ‘devious’ of attacks of the enemy and find inner peace as we understand the full meaning and significance of ‘The Heart Alone with God’. 
    £4.00
    £4.00
  • £12.00

    Poustinia

    ,
    This book (fundamental to the Community) by Catherine de Hueck Doherty explores the heart of drawing apart to a meeting place with God. Poustinia, a Russian word, means 'desert'. Men and women who desire communion with God can discover how the poustinia powerfully fulfils their yearning. Readers are invited to leave the noise and harried pace of daily life to enter a place of silence and solitude. The author writes from her own experience with refreshing and startling Christian authenticity and a strong personal sense of spiritual authority.
    £12.00
    £12.00
  • The Wisdom of the Desert
    The Wisdom of the Desert
    £8.50

    The Wisdom of the Desert

    ,
    The Wisdom of the Desert was one of Thomas Merton's favourites among his own books - surely because he had hoped to spend his last years as a hermit. The personal tone of the translations, the blend of reverence and humour so characteristic of him, show how deeply Merton identified with the legendary authors of these sayings and parables, the fourth century Christian Fathers who sought solitude and contempation in the deserts of the Near East. The hermits of Scete who turned their backs on a corrupt society remarkably like our own had much in common with the Zen Masters of China and Japan, and Father Merton made his selection from them with an eye to the kind of impact produced by the Zen mondo.
    £8.50
    £8.50
  • £9.00

    The Way of the Heart

    ,
    The words flee, be silent and pray summarise the spirituality of the desert. They indicate the three ways of preventing the world from shaping us in its image and are thus the three ways to life in the Spirit.' How can Christians live as God wants in today's world? Henri Nouwen seeks his answer from an unlikely source - the example of the fifth-century Egyptian Desert Fathers and Mothers. Their experience in the desert taught them that true Christian living in possible only if we find a place in our lives for solitude, silence and prayer. The Way of the Heart in a perfect book for prayerful meditation. Compassionate yet challenging, it will enable us not only to appreciate the teaching of the Desert Fathers and Mothers, but to apply it to our daily lives.
    £9.00
    £9.00
  • £5.95

    Praying with the Desert Mothers

    ,
    The fourth- and fifth-century desert mothers lived the earliest forms of Christian life in the Mediterranean region. Until now, their lives have been little known outside of academic circles, Praying with the Desert Mothers presents the stories and insights of these remarkable spiritual elders, who were known as ammas; that is, women of spiritual insight and direction. The book draws on the wisdom of ancient spiritual practices to provide reflection for prayer and meditation today.
    £5.95
    £5.95
  • Silence and Honey Cakes
    Silence and Honey Cakes
    £7.99

    Silence and Honey Cakes

    Silence and Honey Cakes – The Wisdom of the Desert by Rowan Williams In Silence and Honey Cakes, Rowan Williams returns to the desert fathers and mothers of the fourth and fifth centuries, revealing a spirituality that resonates strongly with aspects of the modern spiritual search. Drawing on their stories and sayings, he reflects on questions such as: How can we discover the truth about ourselves? How do we live in relationship with others? What does the desert say about our priorities? How can we create a fearless community?
    £7.99
    £7.99
  • Sold out
    £14.00

    The Forgotten Desert Mothers

    ,
    An introduction to the sayings, lives and stories of early Christian women. "Written in clear, heartfelt language, this book does two things beautifully. It revives lost memories of women leaders in the early evolution of Christian spirituality, thus filling in one more missing piece of women's history. And it calls the reader to a path of spirituality sorely needed in today's clamorous world: slow down, be quiet, listen for the voice of God deep within your heart. The book's attractiveness is enhanced by a time line, ordination rite, glossary and calendar of feasts in addition to notes and bibliography. Altogether an appealing contribution."

    - Elizabeth Johnson, C.S.J.  Fordham University

    £14.00
    £14.00
  • £9.95

    The Sayings of the Desert Fathers

    The Sayings of the Desert Fathers – The Alphabetical Collection Translated by Benedicta Ward, SLG The fourth-century ascetic flight to the desert indelibly marked Christianity. The faithful who did not embrace the austerity of the desert admired those who did and sought them out for counsel and consolation. The ‘words’ the monks gave were collected and passed around among those too far away or too feeble to make the trek themselves – or lived generations later. Previously available only in fragments, these Sayings of the Desert Fathers are now accessible in its entirety in English for the first time. ‘We have a great deal to learn from their integrity and their unrelenting courage, from their vision of God – so holy, so great, possessed of such a love, that nothing less than one’s whole being could respond to it,’ wrote Archbishop Anthony of Sourzah in the preface. ‘If we wish to understand the sayings of the Fathers, let us approach them with veneration, silencing our judgments and our own thoughts in order to meet them on their own ground and perhaps to partake ultimately – if we prove to emulate their earnestness in the search, their ruthless determination, their infinite compassion – in their own silent communion with God.’
    £9.95
    £9.95
  • Sold out
    The Solace of Fierce Landscapes
    The Solace of Fierce Landscapes
    £12.99

    The Solace of Fierce Landscapes

    Exploring Desert and Mountain Spirituality by Belden C. Lane In the tradition of Kathleen Norris, Terry Tempest Williams, and Thomas Merton, Belden Lane explores the impulse that has drawn seekers into the wilderness for centuries and offers eloquent testimony to the healing power of mountain silence and desert indifference. Interweaving a memoir of his mother’s long struggle with Alzheimer’s and cancer, meditations on his own wilderness experience, and illuminating commentary on the Christian via negative – a mystical tradition that seeks God in the silence beyond language – Lane rejects the easy affirmations of pop spirituality for the harsher but more profound truths that wilderness can teach us. He shows that the very indifference of the wilderness can release us from the demands of the endlessly anxious ego, teach us to ignore the inessential in our own lives, and enable us to transcend the “false self” that is ever-obsessed with managing impressions. Drawing upon the wisdom of St. John of the Cross, Meister Eckhardt, Simone Weil, Edward Abbey, and many other Christian and non-Christian writers, Lane also demonstrates how those of us cut off from the wilderness might “make some desert” in our lives. Written with vivid intelligence, narrative ease, and a gracefulness that is itself a comfort, The Solace of Fierce Landscapes gives us not only a description, but also a “performance” of an ancient and increasingly relevant spiritual tradition.
    £12.99
    £12.99