Product Categories

Seasons of Life

Filters

Showing all 7 results

Departments

Price Filter

7 products

  • Sold out
    £6.99

    Come let us age! An invitation to grow old boldly

    , ,
    In this unique book, Wanda Nash, a well-established writer on spirituality in her late seventies, reflects on growing old with faith and a positive spirit. This compelling invitation to grow old boldly – full of her own experiences and insights – includes Wanda's reflection on her encounter later in life with terminal cancer, and her thoughts on coping with the daily challenges of living a Christian life in her illness and in ageing. Demonstrating a profound sense of the value and purposefulness of 'old age', the author's indomitable spirit is matched only by fresh vision of the love of God in Jesus Christ. Until her death in June 2015, Wanda Nash was an author and speaker on a range of subjects including stress and spirituality. Having been the UK Chair of the International Stress Management Association, she authored a number of significant books, including Christ, Stress and Glory, At Ease with Stress, Come, Let us Play!, Simple Tools for Stillness and Silence as a Meeting Place. These reflections have been lovingly edited by Wanda's daughter, Poppy, and her friend Debbie Thrower, bringing to life the wisdom, faith and humour of old age for future generations.
    £6.99
    £6.99
  • £15.00

    Let Your Life Speak: Listening for the Voice of Vocation

    ,

    A compassionate and compelling meditation on discovering your path in life.

    With wisdom, compassion and gentle humour, Parker J. Palmer invites us to listen to the inner teacher and follow its leadings toward a sense of meaning and purpose. Telling stories from his own life and the lives of others who have made a difference , he shares insights gained from darkness and depression as well as fulfilment and joy, illuminating a pathway towards vocation for all who seek the true calling of their lives.

    £15.00
    £15.00
  • The Journey of a Pilgrim
    The Journey of a Pilgrim
    £5.00

    The Journey of a Pilgrim: Prayer and reflections on a journey with God through the seasons of life

    ,
    Prayer and reflections on a journey with God through the seasons of life. In her introduction, Valerie Hicks writes: 'These prayers and reflections are the outcome of a journey that began in September 2008. I had just begun a three-month period of study leave. I was spiritually in a wilderness, but during this time of study, and prayer, I began this new journey with God. Wherever you are on your journey with God may you find the reflections of help.'
    £5.00
    £5.00
  • £9.99

    Thinking of You: A resource for the spiritual care of people with dementia

    , ,
    Thinking of You is a comprehensive introduction to the subject of dementia. This accessible book is a practical resource for those directly affected by the condition, their immediate family and carers, and those seeking to offer them pastoral care and encourage continuing spiritual growth. Importantly, the author addresses the spiritual care of the affected individual and how to help churches support them and their carers. The final section includes resources for ministry in residential care homes.  
    £9.99
    £9.99
  • £12.00

    Walking Home Together: Spiritual Guidance and Practical Advice for the End of Life

    ,
    Very few books address this sensitive subject, and none do so more beautifully than chaplain Mike mercer's tender and practical guide. In the tradition of Nouwen and Rolheiser, he offers thoughts, practices, stories, and prayers that can bring comfort and strength for those in their final season of life. Where will I find love right now? How is my death a gift for others? How can I cope when I'm so afraid? Mercer explores these difficult questions as well as practical considerations like advance directives as he helps readers immerse themselves in the powerful love of the Good Shepherd, who always walks this journey with us.
    £12.00
    £12.00
  • Walking in Valleys of Darkness
    Walking in Valleys of Darkness
    £9.00

    Walking in Valleys of Darkness

    , ,
    Trusting in the Lord and his benevolence is easy when life is going well - not so easy when life seems difficult. Yet, walking through what the author calls 'valleys of darkness' can bring us opportunities for insight and grace we might not experience when we are walking through good times. Benedictine monk Fr. Albert Holtz invites the reader to walk with him through five periods of pain and difficulty in his own life, including being diagnosed with cancer and dealing with the death of his brother. In a series of twenty-four meditations, the author shows how insights behind such New Testament words such as courage, compassion, and trust, became a source of practical help and spiritual strength for him during those difficult times. His down-to-earth reflections can do the same for anyone trying to understand how the mystery of Christ's passion, death and resurrection can help us cope with, and even profit from, life's inevitable struggles and sufferings.
    £9.00
    £9.00
  • Sold out
    One Foot in Eden
    One Foot in Eden
    £6.99

    One Foot in Eden: A Celtic View of the Stages of Life

    ,
    One Foot in Eden explores the connection between what is deepest in us and the original goodness of creation seen in the Garden. Writing in the Celtic tradition, Philip Newell views grace, not as opposed to nature but as releasing God's creativity which was planted within us at birth. Love's wisdom and passion may lie buried under layers of confusion in our lives, but they are waiting to be recovered. The book imagines a pilgrimage through the different stages of life, from the innocence of the newborn, through the awakening of adolescence and the passions of adulthood, to the wisdom which comes from experience.
    £6.99
    £6.99