Product Categories

Seasons of Life

Filters

Showing 1–12 of 37 results

View 12/24/All

Departments

Price Filter

1-12 of 37 products

  • £14.99

    Invitation to Retreat: The Gift and Necessity of Time Away with God

    ,
    "Come away and rest awhile." Jesus invites us to be with him, offering our full and undivided attention to him. When we choose retreat, we make a generous investment in our friendship with Christ. We are not always generous with ourselves where God is concerned. Many of us have tried to incorporate regular times of solitude and silence into the rhythm of our ordinary lives, which may mean that we give God twenty minutes here and half an hour there. And there's no question we are better for it! But we need more. Indeed, we long for more. In these pages Transforming Centre founder and seasoned spiritual director Ruth Haley Barton gently leads us into retreat as a key practice that opens us to God. Based on her own practice and her experience leading hundreds of retreats for others, she will guide you in a very personal exploration of seven specific invitations contained within the general invitation to retreat. You will discover how to say yes to God's winsome invitation to greater freedom and surrender. There has never been a time when the invitation to retreat is so radical and so relevant, so needed and so welcome. It is not a luxury, but a necessity of the spiritual life.
    £14.99
    £14.99
  • £12.99

    Into the Depths : A Chaplain’s Reflections on Death, Dying and Pastoral Care

    ,
    Pastoral care is central to Christian ministry, and it can take ministers to the edges of human life. Chaplains often work on the edge of institutions, and frequently on the edge of society. In this thoughtful and practical book, Rosie Deedes draws on her experience as a chaplain in prisons and hospices and reflects on the nature of pastoral care and the contribution chaplaincy can make to the life and ministry of the Church. Focusing particularly on the taboo subject of death and dying, she shows how ministers such as clergy and chaplains are called to go 'into the depths' of human life to share the love and compassion of God. Reflecting on a number of pastoral encounters, the book invites ministers to confront the depths of human life and to develop resilience that enables them to engage in depth with all they encounter.
    £12.99
    £12.99
  • £12.99

    Searching for Sunday: loving, leaving and finding the church

    , , , ,
    New York Times bestselling author Rachel Held Evans embarks on a quest to find out what it really means to be part of the Church. Like millions of her millennial peers, Rachel Held Evans didn't want to go to church anymore. The hypocrisy, the politics, the gargantuan building budgets, the scandals-church culture seemed so far removed from Jesus. Yet, despite her cynicism and misgivings, something kept drawing her back to Church. And so she set out on a journey to understand Church and to find her place in it. Centered around seven sacraments, Evans' quest takes readers through a liturgical year with stories about baptism, communion, confirmation, confession, marriage, vocation, and death that are funny, heartbreaking, and sharply honest. A memoir about making do and taking risks, about the messiness of community and the power of grace, Searching for Sunday is about overcoming cynicism to find hope and, somewhere in between, Church.
    £12.99
    £12.99
  • £12.99

    Postcards from the Land of Grief

    Grief can often feel like a gnawing homesickness for a place where you used to live, but to which you can never return. Richard Littledale has written a series of short, candid thoughts and reflections from his own experience of widowhood that will resonate and bring comfort and understanding to anyone experiencing bereavement. These thoughts are written as postcards from the land of grief, as they are used to convey a message from this foreign country of bereavement. Postcards are, by definition, a small snapshot of a feeling at any one time, not long and drawn out essays, and these thoughts provide an accessible way to identify feelings and draw hope from a fellow traveller. Richard also includes practical resources and advice on the grieving process, and reflects on how his faith in God has sustained him. The book is deliberately designed to be able to dip in and out of as required at the point of need. It is also useful for those who want to give a helpful book to comfort a friend, or for anyone wanting to help understand how their bereaved loved one might be feeling.
    £12.99
    £12.99
  • £12.50

    Seamless Faith: Simple Practices for Daily Family Life

    ,
    Faith is learned when it is woven seamlessly into the fabric of everyday life. In Seamless Faith, author Traci Smith shares dozens of simple practices to equip families of all kinds with the tools they need for bringing faith home. Filled with easy-to-organize traditions, ceremonies, and spiritual practices for many of life's stressful and faith-filled moments, this is a resource parents will rely on for years to come.
    £12.50
    £12.50
  • £7.99

    God Among the Ruins : Trust and transformation in difficult times

    , , ,
    Where do we turn when our world is falling apart?It takes courage to hope; to stand in our confusion and grief and still to believe that 'God is not helpless among the ruins'. Guided by Habakkuk and his prophetic landmarks, we are drawn on a reflective journey through the tangled landscape of bewildered faith, through places of wrestling and waiting, and on into the growth space of deepened trust and transformation. As you read, discover for yourself the value and practice of honest prayer, of surrender, of silence and listening, and of irrepressible hoping.
    £7.99
    £7.99
  • £14.99

    Home : the quest to belong

    ,
    Where is Home?This question troubles many of us. We may live far from where we grew up, away from those we love or in a culture not our own. But we all need somewhere to belong, to find a sense of home in this world. Jo Swinney was born in the UK, but grew up in Portugal and France. She went to an English boarding school, did a gap year in southern Africa and in her twenties studied theology in Canada, where she met her American husband. Now back in the UK, she's had more reason than most to wonder what 'home' really means. Is home where you come from - where you live now - where the people you love are - or what?Interweaving a frank and poignant retelling of her own story with theological and psychological insights, Jo's original and authentic exploration of home in all its many and varied forms is a heartfelt call to find our home in the things that are truly of most value.
    £14.99
    £14.99
  • £12.00

    This Must Be the Place : Reflections on Home

    ,
    Connects the metaphor of home that runs through the stories of our faith - the Prodigal Son, the Son of Man has nowhere to call home, heaven as home - with the deep desire to belong and to feel wanted* Author of Keeping the Feast turns discussions about food and faith into what it means to live in community, to create home, and to feel at homeThe author writes, "One of the characters in Robert Frost's `Death of a Hired Man' says, `Home is that place where, when you go there, they have to let you in.' I have found that place in my marriage, around our dining room table for Thursday Night Dinners, with friends who have helped me make a mosaic out of the shards of my fractured past. Home, for me, means to belong, to feel wanted."As a writer, chef, and minister, Brasher-Cunningham has spoken to churches, taught cooking classes, hosted dinners, and found as many ways as possible to get people together to talk about food and faith. That discussion turns often to what it means to live life together, which is an entry point to talk about what it means to feel at home together. For readers of Keeping the Faith and Brasher-Cunningham's blog, churches seeking to be "home" for their members, people who have moved and searching for a sense of home.
    £12.00
    £12.00
  • £3.99

    Facing Midlife

    ,
    A book of undated biblical reflections, Facing Midlife is a unique devotional guide to one of the most spiritually important transitions in life. Midlife brings with it both difficulty and opportunity but the Scriptures show us how to handle these challenges wisely so that in the second half of life we reach our full potential and find our unique God-given vocation. In Facing Midlife Tony Horsfall shows that God is involved in the midlife transition, using it to shape and form us into the likeness of Christ, and to prepare us for the exciting calling he still has for us. Rather than to be avoided or ignored, the midlife transition is one to be embraced confidently in the knowledge that God is at work in all the circumstances of our lives.
    £3.99
    £3.99
  • £10.95

    Moments to Remember : Ignatian Wisdom for Aging

    With a shared belief in the transforming power of the Spiritual Exercises of St. Ignatius, Sr. Carol Ann Smith, SHCJ and Fr. Eugene F. Merz, SJ have collaborated in ministry to various groups with the hope of empowering leaders with the wisdom of the Ignatian tradition of Christian spirituality. While ministering at the Center for Ignatian Spirituality at Marquette University, Sr. Carol Ann and Fr. Merz, co-authored two books. Moment By Moment: A Retreat In Everyday Life, (2000) and Finding God In Each Moment: The Practice of Discernment in Everyday Life (2005). Both books have been used in a variety of ways by individuals, married couples and communities as well as in settings such as educational institutions, parishes, retreat centres, prisons, groups and by spiritual directors.
    £10.95
    £10.95
  • £15.99

    Dementia : Living in the Memories of God

    ,
    Winner of the Michael Ramsay Prize 2016 Dementia is one of the most feared diseases in Western society today. Some have even gone so far as to suggest euthanasia as a solution to the perceived indignity of memory loss and the disorientation that accompanies it. In this book John Swinton develops a practical theology of dementia for caregivers, people with dementia, ministers, hospital chaplains, and medical practitioners as he explores two primary questions: ' Who am I when I've forgotten who I am?' What does it mean to love God and be loved by God when I have forgotten who God is?Offering compassionate and carefully considered theological and pastoral responses to dementia and forgetfulness, Swinton's Dementia: Living in the Memories of God redefines dementia in light of the transformative counter story that is the gospel.
    £15.99
    £15.99
  • £14.99

    The Last Journey : Reflections for the Time of Grieving

    ,
    The need to express grief, to sing our sorrow, is as old as humanity. The Book of Psalms, sideby side with expressions of deepest praise, contains cries of unfathomable despair. Both are not only acceptable to God, but essential for our mental and spiritual health. In The Last Journey, John Bell explores the myriad of emotions that accompany loss, offeringus a way to grieve, to search through the struggle before us - and perhaps enabling us to findthe courage to face the world with a renewed sense of hope. This book is accompanied by an audio CD of 17 songs.
    £14.99
    £14.99
Load More